Guest fountainhall

Fast Quiz!

Guest fountainhall

Aleppo is daily in the news. It is one of the oldest inhabited cities in civilisation and featured heavily in the Crusades.

In what play or plays does Shakespeare mention Aleppo?

No cheating, please :o

Not like me to dodge a guess, but my knowledge of Shakespeare is terrible. I suppose if he wrote a play based on say Richard the LIonheart he might have mentioned Aleppo, but i've no idea if he did.

It's very sad to see what's unfolding in Syria. The President was an ophthalmologist by profession living in London and regarded as a decent chap. I don't think he ever expected to become President.

I visited Syria back in the early 90's and it's a fascinating country. The so-called crusader castles are amazing.

Othello

I loved Macbeth, the play we had to do in the 12th grade. One of the things I loved was the scenes with the witches---done best by Piolanski. Here Aleppo is mention. However, Koko's answer made me think and I did cheat and looked it up and he is also right.

Guest fountainhall

Obviously posters are an educated bunch, what with brains using English and Metric reasoning. But it's the answer that counts, whether it not it comes out of your ass!

The answers are Macbeth, where one of the witches does indeed refer to Aleppo in Act 1, Scene 3 -

"Her husband's to Aleppo gone"

- and Othello Act 5, Scene 2

"And say besides, that in Aleppo once, 
Where a malignant and a turban'd Turk 
Beat a Venetian and traduced the state, 
I took by the throat the circumcised dog, 
And smote him, thus."

Honourable mention to Rogie for entering, even though Shakespeare did not write a play on Richard I and I think I am right in saying the Third Crusade did not go near Aleppo (although had he written such a play, no doubt he could have found a way to mention the city in a scene featuring evil witches and murdering Moors)! :o But I sure do envy Rogie having seen all those amazing crusader castles.