jamieb202

Hotels and AirBnbs

I'm still pretty new in the game so a bit of a rant here - yesterday I was at Lagao, found a guy I liked went out and then headed back to my AirBnb and the facial recognition picked up he wasn't registered so I rang the owner to register him and they said they don't let gay men bring guests!  I really book rooms to sleep in, not to have a stranger monitor and approve my sex life. 

If, every time, Julia Roberts had gone to see Richard Gere at the Beverley Wilshire, the security guards had surrounded her, it would have ruined Pretty Woman. 

Is there a security reason for this? Specifically the gay man bit got me - I mean we aren't going to burn the place down. Surely they have my Amex card on file if anything goes wrong?

• Members

You might provide more detail. Was it a fingerprint scan on an external gate and the camera picks up the registered face linked to the fingerprint? That’s how I envision it. Unless you simply buzz and your face is scanned at that point based on check-in biometrics. In either case you can possibly let yourself in and your guest can be hovering out of range nearby but outside the gate and let in by you … but give it a minute … swinging the gate the opposite direction how you had entered, once you are inside. That would be how some deliveries are made to occupants going down to accept, say, a DoorDash meal order, typically not letting the deliverer in any further but that does not mean they couldn’t be spirited in. Obviously tourism unit guests accept such deliveries too.