Guest lurkerspeaks

What has happened to the "younger generation"?

Guest lurkerspeaks

I am 53 years old. I have never stepped foot in a jail cell. I have never been arrested. I have no "record" of any sort.

I am a restaurant manager, so i work around lot of younger (late teens, early 20 year olds) people.. It seems like so many of them get arrested, spend time in jail, have records, are on probation, etc..

I just don't get it.. what happened to make it so common place today?

Expat. I don't think so. I think parenting skills have improved. But, I think that we have become a society that incarcerates people for things that should not be illegal. How much of this is drug related? I bet a high number. How many of our friends / ect were doing drugs back in the 60's and 50's? I don't think the numbers have changed that much (maybe I am wrong) but I think the arrests have drastically gone up. Why? IMHO we need to fill prisons to fill coffers.

Guest lurkerspeaks

Lurker, can you tell me out of curiosity, what percentage of these are black? I ask only as I know the rates for black incarceration is crazy high. I am curious what your potential employee poll is.

Oz, from my personal experience, they are all white. The restaurants I have had the most experiences in have all had predominantly white and/or latino staffs.

I think I would agree with the comment about parenting/upbringing. I think the lack of strong, parental figures in the household have made a difference. So many of the "younger generation" were raised by single, working parents and were on their own from an early age.

Guest EXPAT

I'm certain it's lack of parenting. And I don't think parenting has gotten better. I'm actually shocked you have that opinion. All evidence is to the contrary.