Guest CharliePS

For sports fans only

Guest CharliePS

Every pundit I read or heard last week confidently predicted a WS between the two best teams in baseball, the Phillies and Yankees. Today they will be covering their asses with the old bromide, "You never know what will happen in a short series." Instead, we have three winners from the traditional weaklings, the Central divisions, and the fourth from the anemic AL West. The media bosses must be cringing at the possibility of having to sell a WS between Milwaukee and Detroit: no big markets, no geographical diversity, and no-name players. Who will watch, especially if typical Upper Midwest autumn weather plays havoc with the schedule?

• Members

I studied CharliePS' content going back one full year, and it appears that this is the first thread he has started. So no doubt he feels passionately about the subject. Just as my Yankees blew it, so too did the Phillies. They had Halladay and Cliff Lee, the latter fought hard for by the Yankees. Yet little good he did the Phillies when the prime time came. So it shows that money can't buy everything.

I have no desire to watch the Texas Rangers play, and hardly more for the Tigers, despite growing up a Tiger fan. My whole family still is.

As for Milwaukee and St.Louis, there's not much interest either. Tony LaRussa bored me a long time ago. One Milwaukee player, upon being interviewed by TV, said "Fuck Yeah," thus endearing himself to parents everywhere. So not much class there.

Much has been made of Milwaukee pitcher Zach Greinke. Supposedly the Yankees didn't take him because he has mental problems dealing with the limelight. That's not going to help Milwaukee playing on national TV...unless the theory is bonkers, not the pitcher.

Guest lurkerspeaks

Admittedly, i am not much of a sports fan usually.. *the most athleic thing I do is jump to conclusions.* But I was hoping my Diamondbacks would make it to the World Series..