Guest tomcal

Rio/Porto Alegre June 2011

Guest tomcal

I spent 9 days in Rio and 2 days in Porto Alegre this last trip. There has been a lot of discussion about the number of guys working in the saunas vs. several years ago and the future of the saunas. I think that that overall the impressions of the other posters regarding this, is correct, IMHO, the reasons are different than some have stated and I think no one knows for sure, the economy, the internet,...? I took time this trip to talk to two of the sauna owners as well as 8 different sauna guys as to why some saunas and number of guys working has changed. I will discuss this more in a later post .

I do agree with what was posted that if you had never been to Brazilian saunas before, you would think you died and went to heaven compared to what is available in other parts of the world, with the exception being Thailand which I have no experience to compare! I have been to Barcelona several times this past year, and it's fun but it still doesn't compare to Rio IMHO! The key, is picking the right night at the right sauna! If you think about it, it is no different than gay bars here in the U.S. You can go to a gay bar on one night and it’s packed and the next night empty! (ever visited most U.S. gay bars on a Monday or Tues night?)

I purposely counted the number of working guys on several nights I was in the saunas,(CAVEAT!: this is not a Owner’s count or skewed in any way, and I have no vested interest to either promote or denigrate any suanas/bar. It is my opinion and just what I observed! )