AdamSmith

Lap dances judged "free speech" in Oregon

• Members

Ok... first of all... I am a BIG fan of strip clubs and lapdances, so I am very happy for Oregon.

Secondly, I am not a lawyer, so I may not understand the finer aspects of constitutional law.

However, I do speak English, and under any kind of definition of the word "speech", I am not sure how jumping naked into someone's lap so you can grind against their genitalia for the purpose of arousing them constitutes speech!

And since free speech is supposedly protected everywhere, is the judge saying that you could do naked lap dances in the street?

I gotta take more linguistics classes if that's the case! ^_^

Guest StuCotts
Ok... first of all... I am a BIG fan of strip clubs and lapdances, so I am very happy for Oregon.

Secondly, I am not a lawyer, so I may not understand the finer aspects of constitutional law.

However, I do speak English, and under any kind of definition of the word "speech", I am not sure how jumping naked into someone's lap so you can grind against their genitalia for the purpose of arousing them constitutes speech!

And since free speech is supposedly protected everywhere, is the judge saying that you could do naked lap dances in the street?

Technically, yes. But if you put it to the test, you could be taken in under whatever statute can be applied, eg, public lewdness, incitement to riot, interfering with traffic, etc. I'm reminded of a quotation from I don't remember what source and which I couldn't render without mangling it, so I'll paraphrase: Do as you please in private, but not in the street where it will frighten the horses. (Mrs. Patrick Campbell? Adam, can you throw me a line?)

I gotta take more linguistics classes if that's the case! ^_^

Don't bother. No knowledge of English or linguistic theory is of any use at all in judicial situations.

• Members