Guest BKKvisitor

BKK Reflections

Guest BKKvisitor

I've been visiting Bangkok for about five years now. Having returned a week ago from my most recent visit, I offer some reflections:

Accommodations: I've stayed in many different hotels from the Malaysia to the Peninsula and lots in between but I return most often to Tarntawan Place for friendly atmosphere and convenience. I simply feel comfortable there (the Thursday evening manager's cocktail parties are great opportunities to meet people and exchange information). And it's the best (and safest) place to bring a new friend back to your room. I've also sampled many serviced apartments, all of which offered their own distinct advantages and tradeoffs. The serviced apartments appear particularly popular among Japanese and Chinese visitors. The only place I probably wouldn't return to is Malaysia (a bit too spartan for me personally but I know many treasure it for convenience and value).

Restaurants: I suppose that Bua on Convent Rd. is my favorite of Thai food at a good value. And that little French place across the soi (LaBoulange) makes great breads and pastries and produces the best club sandwich I've enjoyed anywhere. If you must have western food, you can always find it at Sizzler and Subway (but at western prices), McDonald's and KFC (but why would you want to travel half-way around the globe to do that to yourself?).

Soi 4: When I first came to BKK, I was there every night, people watching and drinking. Gradually, however, it lost its sway over me. The best things it has going for it are the long-serving bartenders at Balcony (although the waiters there are some of the most distracted servers anywhere). I'd probably go to Telephone more often if they'd get rid of that stale odor that hits you in the face (a mixture of stale smoke and uncleaned bathrooms). And I've learned not to take food at any establishment on the soi.