reader

Arsenic in rice?

Guest abang1961

Pardon me..

I have been eating RICE for more than 50 years as RICE is a staple for Asians.

Did the article specifies the origin of the RICE?

For me, I do soak the white rice for at least 10 minutes before draining the water away.

This is to remove any dirt, husk and remnants of pesticide and bleach.

To make perfect long grain rice, add not more than 1.5 cup of water to 1 cup of grains.

For slightly more aromatic flavour, add in cut pieces of mixed vegetables (readily packed and available in bags purchased from your local supermarket) and a dash of salt and about 1 tablespoon of cooking oil.  

Another version is to sprinkle a little turmeric powder to add a little colour to the pot of rice.

Did the article specifies the origin of the RICE?

Good question. I'm a rice eater myself so I pursed this with no little amount of self interest.

Consumer Reports published the following:

All types of rice (except sushi and quick cooking) with a label indicating that it’s from Arkansas, Louisiana, or Texas or just from the U.S. had the highest levels of inorganic arsenic in our tests. For instance, white rices from California have 38 percent less inorganic arsenic than white rices from other parts of the country.

Our latest tests determined that the inorganic arsenic content of rice varies greatly depending on the type of rice and where it was grown. White basmati rice from California, India, and Pakistan, and sushi rice from the U.S. on average has half of the inorganic-arsenic amount of most other types of rice.

Brown rice has 80 percent more inorganic arsenic on average than white rice of the same type. Arsenic accumulates in the grain’s outer layers, which are removed to make white rice. Brown has more nutrients, though, so you shouldn’t switch entirely to white. Brown basmati from California, India, or Pakistan is the best choice; it has about a third less inorganic arsenic than other brown rices.